CCHE/iHPME Faculty Tony Culyer Wins Prestigious Awards

Dr. Tony Culyer has received three awards for excellence in health research.

Tony Culyer

Dr. Culyer was the founding organizer of the world’s oldest association of health economists (HESG in the United Kingdom) in 1970, and was the founding co-editor of the Journal of Health Economics, chair of the WSIB’s Research Advisory Council (Toronto), and chair of the Office of Health Economics (UK). He is chair of the National Institute for Health & Care Excellence’s Research Advisory Committee (UK). He is an Adjunct Professor at the Institute of Health Policy, Management, & Evaluation. He is also a Faculty Associate of the CCHE and acts as the Chair of its Scientific Review Committee.

Tony Culyer is the prizewinner of the 2015 Baxter Foundation’s William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research. He shares the Prize with Professor Alan Maynard, of the University of York in England. The William B. Graham Prize for Health Services Research was established in 2006 to honour the late William B. Graham, long-time CEO of Baxter International. The Prize is the highest distinction that researchers in the health services field can achieve, and succeeds the Baxter International Foundation Prize for Health Services Research. The Prize was established to recognize worldwide contributions to the improved health of the public through health services research, particularly research that has a lasting impact on the healthcare system and the way healthcare is delivered. The Health Services Research Prize acknowledges the national or international contributions of health services researchers who apply analytic methods to examine and evaluate the organization, financing, and/or delivery of health services. The focus of the Prize is on the recognition of a person who has had a significant impact on the health of the public in one of three primary focus areas: Health Services Management, Health Policy Development, and Healthcare Delivery. The Prize consists of an individual award of $25,000. In addition, $25,000 will be awarded to a not-for-profit institution designated by the recipient.

Tony is also the 2015 Hall Laureate and Lecturer. The Justice Emmett Hall Memorial Foundation serves to honour Justice Emmett Hall’s legacy. He believed deeply that all Canadians should have access to basic health needs on the same terms and conditions without financial barriers. The Foundation strives to advance these principles through the annual Hall Lecture which took place this year in May in Montreal.

He is also the recipient of the 2015 ISPOR Avedis Donabedian Outcomes Research Lifetime Achievement Award. This was established in honour of the late Avedis Donabedian to acknowledge individuals who have made a major contribution to the improvement of health outcomes. Dr. Donabedian dedicated his life to improving the quality of health care and health care systems, and directed such research towards health outcomes as the measure of quality. The award is international in scope and stature and recognizes an individual’s outstanding, lifelong achievement in the area of improving health outcomes. It is open to any person who through his or her endeavours has demonstrated a significant and lasting contribution towards better health outcomes.

To access Dr. Culyer’s Hall Lecture at the 2015 Canadian Association for Health Services and Policy Research (CAHSPR) Conference, please see:

Dr. Culyer’s 2015 Hall Lecture (.pdf file)